Connect with us

FIFA World Cup

Costa Rica Last Country for Qatar 2022

Costa Rica defeated New Zealand 1-0 to be the last country to book a place in this year’s men’s senior world cup in Qatar.

Former Arsenal forward Joel Campbell scored early in the game for the only goal of the playoff.

New Zealand ended the match with 10 men as substitute Kosta Barbarouses was sent off for fouling Francisco Calvo.

The World Cup begins on 21 November with Costa Rica playing 2010 champions Spain in their opener on 23 November.

Joel Campbell

Costa Rica have now qualified for the World Cup six times and this will be their third successive appearance.

Ranked 31st in the world, Luis Fernando Suarez’s side go into Group E, which also contains four-time winners Germany and a Japan side who have advanced beyond the group phase in three of the past five tournaments.

Their best performance came in 2014 when they reached the quarter-finals, finishing top of a group that included Uruguay, Italy and England, before beating Greece on penalties in the last 16 and losing in a shootout to the Netherlands.

Fifa World Cup Qatar 2022 – final groups
A – QatarEcuadorSenegalNetherlands
B – EnglandIranUSAWales
C – ArgentinaSaudi ArabiaMexicoPoland
D – FranceAustraliaDenmarkTunisia
E – SpainCosta RicaGermanyJapan
F – BelgiumCanadaMoroccoCroatia
G – BrazilSerbiaSwitzerlandCameroon
H – PortugalGhanaUruguaySouth Korea

1AFC Bournemouth000000+00
3Aston Villa000000+00
5Brighton & Hov…000000+00
7Crystal Palace000000+00
10Leeds United000000+00
11Leicester City000000+00
13Manchester City000000+00
14Manchester United000000+00
15Newcastle United000000+00
16Nottingham Forest000000+00
18Tottenham Hotspur000000+00
19West Ham United000000+00
20Wolverhampton Wanderers000000+00

More in FIFA World Cup

Positive SSL