Connect with us


Bayelsa Principals’ Cup Gets LOC

daniel igali

A Local Organising Committee to oversee the maiden Bayelsa State Principals’ Cup has been inaugurated.

Inaugurating the nine-man LOC at his office in Yenagoa, the State Commissioner for Youth and Sports Development, Hon. Daniel Igali charged members to bring their experience and professional competencies to bare and deliver a successful competition.

In a response, Chairman of the Local Organising Committee and Director of Sports, Bayelsa State Sports Council, Sir Braveman Wodi gave an assurance that the LOC would deliver on the mandate of ensuring a hitch free tournament.

Later at a meeting between the LOC and Sub Committees, Consultant for the Bayelsa State Principal’s Cup, Mr. Tony Pemu expressed the hope that the competition would trigger the generation next of great footballers that would emerge from the secondary schools to make the State and country proud in the round leather game.

He urged schools management and other stakeholders to ensure that only students in secondary schools take part in the competition as the organizers would descend hard on those who cheat in the course of the tournament.

The Bayelsa State Principals’ Cup is sponsored by Sterling Bank and is coming after similar tournament were held successfully in Delta and Edo States.

The LOC which is chaired by Sir Braveman Wodi and Co-Chaired by Tony Pemu has Chief Ese Gagi as Secretary while Ms. Rachael Dappa is the Coordinator. Members include the Permanent Secretary, State Ministry of Education, Mr. Christopher Ewhrudjakpo, Acting Permanent Secretary, State Ministry of Sports, Mrs. Grace Alagoa, A Director in the State Ministry of Sports, Mr. Godwin Adagbo, Chairman of the State Football Association, Barr. Porbeni Ogoun while the Secretary of the State FA, Mr. Deseiye Nwankwe is the Recorder.

There are Sub Committees comprising, Technical/Verification, Media/Publicity/ Marketing, Security, Medical, Disciplinary and Logistics/Entertainment/Protocol.

The Technical/Verification Sub Committee is headed by Barr, Porbeni Ogoun while Sampson Abrakasa, Godwin Adagbo, Robin Apreala and Chief Ese Gagi are members.

Media/Publicity/Marketing Sub Committee has Tony Pemu as Chairman, Alambo Datonye, Rukuewe Onovo, Uenny Peters as Members.

Security Sub Committee is made up of Deseiye Nwankwe as Chairman, DSP Alex Tinubu, Rep from FRSC and NSCDC as members

Medical Committee comprises Dr. Justice Akpotu as Chairman, George Mark, Mrs. Hannah Pemu as Members.

The Disciplinary Committee is chaired by the Permanent Secretary, Bayelsa State Ministry of Education, Mr. Christopher Ewhrudjakpo while Robert Iwumansi, Freeborn Ophibikoro and Tari Lazarus are members.

Logistics/Entertainment/Protocol Sub Committee is led by the Acting Permanent Secretary in the State Ministry of Sports, Mrs. Grace Alagoa while members are Mrs. Esther Apeli, Mrs. Iruo Amabebe, Ms. Judith Williams, Mr. Benson Usenogbu and Mr. Adebayo Bello.


1Manchester City3728639624+7290
4Tottenham Hotspur37215116440+2468
6Manchester United371610115756+158
7West Ham United37168135948+1156
8Wolverhampton Wanderers37156163740-351
9Leicester City371310145858+049
10Brighton & Hov…371115113943-448
12Newcastle United371210154261-1946
13Crystal Palace371015124946+345
14Aston Villa37136185051-145
18Leeds United37811184078-3835
20Norwich City3757252379-5622

More in Grassroots

Positive SSL